Laura Laguna elected new member of the Young Academy of Spain

Dr. Laura Laguna, Ramón y Cajal researcher at the SensIATA laboratory, from the IATA Food Science department, has been elected a new member of the Young Academy of Spain.

Last Thursday, June 3, the General Board of the Young Academy of Spain elected 10 new Academic Members. An independent international committee made up of highly prestigious researchers covering different areas of knowledge has participated in the selection process. 102 candidates were submitted to this call, that is to say, less than 10% of the applicants have been selected in a highly competitive process due to the excellent professional trajectory of the candidates. In addition to academic merits, other factors such as the diversity of the candidates and the multidisciplinary nature of their work areas have been taken into account. The new Academic Members of the Young Academy of Spain are: Jorge Alegre Cebollada, Pablo Alonso González, Lino Camprubí Bueno, César de la Fuente Núñez, Estrella Díaz Sánchez, Manuel Irimia Martínez, Laura Laguna Cruañes, María Llorens Martín, Beatriz Pelaz García and Emma Torró Pastor.

Since 2019, when the Academy (AJE) was created, it ensures the promotion of science as a professional option among youth, give visibility and represent young scientists, support the exchange of researchers between institutions or provide new approaches in solving problems of both national and international importance.

More information.